NOW Pets UC-II Collagen Advanced Joint Mobility is a 60-count chewable supplement formulated for dogs. The current label combines UC-II standardized chicken cartilage with glucosamine HCl, MSM, and Boswellia extract, making it more of a multi-ingredient joint-support formula than a stand-alone collagen product.
This review focuses on what the current label actually provides, how the weight-based directions change the daily ingredient amounts, and several details dog owners should notice before buying.
Advertising disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Recommendations are editorially determined.
Quick verdict
Best suited for: Dog owners who specifically want a chewable joint supplement combining UC-II standardized chicken cartilage with glucosamine, MSM, and Boswellia rather than purchasing those ingredients separately.
Main strengths: The active ingredients and amounts are clearly listed per tablet, directions are based on body weight, and the label identifies important animal-derived ingredients that may matter for dogs with food sensitivities.
Main drawbacks: Larger dogs use up to three tablets per day, so a 60-tablet bottle lasts considerably less time for them. The label also does not state the amount of undenatured type II collagen itself within the 20 mg of standardized chicken cartilage, and it does not provide detailed standardization information for the Boswellia extract.
Current label at a glance
| Label detail | What it says |
|---|---|
| Species | Dogs only |
| Form | Chewable tablets |
| Count | 60 tablets |
| Active ingredient basis | Amounts listed per 1 g tablet |
| Glucosamine HCl | 100 mg per tablet, from shellfish |
| MSM | 100 mg per tablet |
| Boswellia extract | 50 mg per tablet |
| UC-II standardized chicken cartilage | 20 mg per tablet |
| Storage | Cool, dry, dark place after opening |
| Quality information listed | NASC Quality Seal, non-GMO, gluten-free, and no artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives |
What each tablet contains
UC-II standardized chicken cartilage: 20 mg
The label lists 20 mg of UC-II standardized chicken cartilage in each tablet. UC-II is an ingredient made from chicken cartilage that contains undenatured type II collagen and is included here to support normal joint mobility and cartilage.
An important label-reading distinction is that 20 mg refers to the UC-II standardized chicken cartilage ingredient. The label does not separately state that the tablet contains 20 mg of pure undenatured type II collagen. That distinction matters when comparing this product with other collagen supplements.
Glucosamine HCl: 100 mg
Each tablet provides 100 mg of glucosamine hydrochloride. The label identifies shellfish as its source, so this formula is not appropriate for shoppers specifically seeking a shellfish-free joint supplement.
MSM: 100 mg
The formula also provides 100 mg of methylsulfonylmethane, commonly abbreviated MSM, per tablet. It is included as another component of the product's joint-support blend.
Boswellia extract: 50 mg
Each tablet contains 50 mg of Boswellia extract. The product facts panel does not list an extraction ratio or a standardized percentage of boswellic acids, so comparisons based only on the milligram number may not be meaningful when looking at other Boswellia-containing products.
Daily amounts depend on your dog's weight
The manufacturer directs owners to give the tablets orally during or after a meal. The labeled schedule is:
| Dog's weight | Tablets per day | UC-II standardized chicken cartilage | Glucosamine HCl | MSM | Boswellia extract |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 30 lb | 1 | 20 mg | 100 mg | 100 mg | 50 mg |
| 31–60 lb | 2 | 40 mg | 200 mg | 200 mg | 100 mg |
| Over 61 lb | 3 | 60 mg | 300 mg | 300 mg | 150 mg |
Because the bottle contains 60 tablets, the labeled supply is approximately 60 days for a dog taking one tablet daily, 30 days at two tablets daily, or 20 days at three tablets daily.
Inactive ingredients and animal protein sources
The current ingredient list includes cellulose, cooked fish powder, magnesium stearate, silica, stearic acid, and tuna flavor. The fish powder is identified as containing pollock, Pacific whiting, cod, and hake.
That means the formula contains several animal-derived ingredients: shellfish-derived glucosamine, chicken cartilage, cooked fish powder, and tuna flavor. Owners managing known food sensitivities should review the complete ingredient list with their veterinarian rather than focusing only on the active ingredients.
An important species-label update
Some older retailer descriptions may still refer to this product as being for dogs and cats. The current NOW product page identifies the present formula as for dogs only and provides directions only for dogs.
For that reason, it is better to follow the current package label rather than relying on older product descriptions or archived listings. This review does not recommend using the current dog-labeled product for cats.
What the NASC Quality Seal does and does not mean
The product currently displays the NASC Quality Seal. The seal relates to participation in the National Animal Supplement Council's quality program. It should not be interpreted as proof that the supplement is effective for an individual dog, as veterinary endorsement, or as FDA approval.
Pet supplements are also not substitutes for veterinary diagnosis or treatment when a dog has persistent stiffness, pain, lameness, difficulty standing, or another mobility concern.
Label cautions worth reading
- The manufacturer recommends a veterinary examination before using the product.
- Give the supplement during or after your dog has eaten to reduce the chance of gastrointestinal upset.
- Safe use in pregnant animals or animals intended for breeding has not been established.
- Stop administration and consult a veterinarian if your dog's condition worsens or does not improve.
- The product is not for human consumption.
- Keep it out of reach of children and animals.
- In case of accidental overdose, contact a health professional immediately.
The current label does not specify a minimum age. That means puppy suitability should not be assumed from the adult weight-based directions. Owners of young, senior, pregnant, ill, or medicated dogs should discuss supplementation with their veterinarian.
What to consider before buying
Check your dog's existing supplements
Many joint formulas already contain glucosamine, MSM, Boswellia, collagen ingredients, or combinations of these. Using multiple products can create unnecessary ingredient overlap. Complete and balanced dog food may also already provide adequate amounts of many nutrients, depending on the ingredient involved.
Calculate bottle duration using the label dose
A 60-count bottle sounds relatively large until the weight-based directions are considered. Dogs over 61 pounds use three tablets per day according to the current label, reducing one bottle to about a 20-day supply.
Compare ingredient forms, not just milligrams
For UC-II products in particular, look at exactly what the milligram amount describes. Here, the label specifies 20 mg of UC-II standardized chicken cartilage per tablet. Avoid comparing that number directly with products that list a different collagen material or measure a different component.
Consider protein sensitivities
This is not a single-protein formula. Chicken, shellfish, and several fish sources appear on the label, which may make another product easier to evaluate for dogs on restricted diets.
Frequently asked questions
Is NOW Pets UC-II Collagen made only for dogs?
The current manufacturer's product page states that the product is for dogs only. Older listings may still contain dog-and-cat wording, so check the label on the bottle you receive.
How much UC-II is in each tablet?
The label lists 20 mg of UC-II standardized chicken cartilage per tablet. It does not separately list the exact amount of undenatured type II collagen within that ingredient.
Does it contain glucosamine?
Yes. Each tablet contains 100 mg of glucosamine HCl, and the label identifies shellfish as the source.
How many tablets does a large dog take?
According to the current directions, dogs over 61 pounds take three tablets daily. Follow the product label and do not increase the amount beyond the labeled directions unless your veterinarian instructs you to do so.
Should it be given with food?
Yes. The manufacturer directs owners to give it during or after mealtime and specifically notes that administering it after the animal has eaten may reduce gastrointestinal upset.
Is this an FDA-approved treatment for joint disease?
No. This is an animal health supplement, not an FDA-approved drug for treating joint disease. It is designed to support normal joint mobility and connective tissue and should not replace veterinary care.
Final recommendation
NOW Pets UC-II Collagen Advanced Joint Mobility stands out for combining four clearly labeled active ingredients in a chewable dog formula: UC-II standardized chicken cartilage, glucosamine HCl, MSM, and Boswellia extract. The transparent per-tablet amounts make it relatively straightforward to see exactly how much of each listed ingredient a dog receives at the labeled serving.
The main points to check before purchasing are your dog's weight, the resulting bottle duration, existing joint supplements, and the presence of chicken, shellfish, and fish-derived ingredients. Also note that the current formula is labeled for dogs only, even though older listings may still use dog-and-cat language.
For dogs with ongoing mobility changes, dogs taking medication, or owners considering several overlapping joint products, veterinary guidance is the better next step than simply adding another supplement.
